Kelly O’s Diner – April 22, 2009

I am making an attemp to visit every location in Pittsburgh that Guy Fieri visits on Food Networks "Diners, Drive Ins, & Dives". I have been to the Starlite Lounge for wing night, but have yet to try their famous pierogi’s. I have also been to Kelly O’s Diner many times. Kelly O’s is just a few minutes from my work so when I found out that they were gonna be on Triple D I was very happy for them. One of the reasons I have returned to Kelly O’s is because of the salads. The spinach salad is my favorite and the burgers are pretty good too, and of course you can’t forget about breakfast. Since Kelly O’s was featured on DDD I haven’t been, but I wanted to. I was surprised by the feature on DDD because the meals they featured I had never tried when I ordered from there. So this meant I had to now go up and give a few of the specials a try.

Food
Turkey Pot Pie Soup- Think of any good, homemade turkey pot pie you have ever had….Okay…now think about that inside portion of it put into a soup bowl with crumbles of crust on top. Is your mouth watering yet? If you like turkey pot pie, I really do recommend giving this a try.

Polenta & Bolognese - One of my all-time favorite comfort foods (behind meatloaf & mashed potatoes) is chili & cornbread. There is just something about that combination that I really enjoy, and when I eat it I usually make both homemade (this could possibly be the next recipe posted). Kelly O’s polenta & bolognese is a very similar dish to the above chili & cornbread. Her bolognese sauce has a ton of ground meat in it with a killer sauce, and the polenta is very tasty as well. On the dish you get about 5 scoops of polenta then smoothered with the bolognese sauce, and topped with a little romano cheese. What I really liked about this meal was that the waitress told me that she helped make the polenta with Kelly. I thought that was such a nice touch to know that plate was made just for that order. After this and the soup, I had a very warm belly!

Location
1130 Perry Highway
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
Phone- 412-364-0473
Web- http://www.kellyosdiner.com/

Final Thought
As I said early on, I have visited Kelly O’s before and plan on going back again soon. If you are in the North Hills area, make sure Kelly O’s is on your list of places to eat as well for breakfast, lunch or dinner. One thing I plan on adding to this site soon is a list of all the places the Food Network has been to, and while I keep up I would love to get feedback from yinz if you have already been. In the meantime enjoy this video of Triple D visiting Kelly O’s.

Until Next Time…

Kelly O's Diner on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Kelly O’s Diner – April 22, 2009

  1. Pingback: Food Network’s Diners, Drive-Ins, & Dives – Pittsburgh | Yinz Hungry?

Leave a Reply

