SouthSide Steaks – April 20, 2009

I have never been to Philly, so I can only imagine the food I had at SouthSide Steaks recently was the closest thing to a Philly style sub. This was the first time I have ever been to SouthSide Steaks, and I was not disappointed. My buddy Vic works in the SouthSide and has told me about this place for sometime now, and figured this past Monday was as good of a day as any to go. The inside of the shop is pretty relaxed with nothing special going on inside the eating area except for the food.

Food
Cajun Fries - Anybody that tells you that fresh cut fries are not worth the hassle are lying to you. That fresh taste and flavor that you get from these fries along with the cajun seasoning makes these fries go almost immediately to the top. The only fries that I can remember being better than these are the Potato Patch fries from Kennywood (I always like bbq salt and cheese), but with that let me say SSS is a close call to the potato patch.

Mushroom Pepper Steak - This steak was something special as well. I ordered my steak with the grilled onions, lettuce, hot peppers and cheez wiz, WOW! This sandwich didn’t disappoint. The pepper steak just had flavor, and everything else just added to it and nothing was overpowering at all.

Location
2000 E. Carson Street
P
ittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone- 412-390-1844
Web- http://www.southsidesteaks.com/

Final Thought
I don’t think I have hidden my feelings toward the food at all in this article, SouthSide Steaks I believe is a MUST! They truly know Umami.

Until Next Time…

Southside Steaks on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

