Kretzler’s Tavern – April 24, 2009

I have worked out in the North Hills for about 4 years now, and have been visiting family out that way for a lot longer. This past Friday I tried Kretzler’s Tavern on Babcock Blvd for the first time, and I wish I would have done it sooner. My grandparents have gone to Kretzler’s a number of times over the years with friends of theirs, but I never knew what Kretzler’s offered. So when a friend of my uncle’s asked if we wanted to join him for lunch on Friday I was all about going. Like alot of bar & grill’s, Kretzler’s is known for their fish sandwich.

Food
Famous Fish Sandwich w/ Potato Pancakes – The menu says that the fish is a batter-dipped cod, fried golden brown, served on a sesame bun. The amount of fish was a decent amount and was even too much to keep on the entire bun. The fish was fried perfectly, and had a nice crunch to the batter instead of being soggy. For my sides, I ordered potato pancakes, and these didn’t disappoint either. These were 2 large and thick potato pancakes that came with a choice of applesauce or sour cream, I like applesauce with my potato pancakes. If you are from the North Hills area, and haven’t tried Kretzler’s yet I don’t think you will be disappointed in the fish. If you do happen to go, or have gone, let me know what else is good for a future trip.

Location
2240 Babcock Blvd
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
Phone- 412-821-1606
Web- http://www.kretzlers.com/

Kretzler's Tavern on Urbanspoon

Final Thought
Sometimes I think that if you have had one fish sandwich, you have had them all. Then a few places come out with their take on it and even if it is something small, it makes a big difference. The thing I liked most about Kretzler’s, besides the good fish, was the choice of sides. As I said before, I got the potato pancakes, but the other choices were fries, coleslaw, soup, or mac n’ chesse (mac on available on Friday’s). The potato pancakes for me added a nice touch to the meal and was pretty flavorful all around. Normally the fish sandwich is most popular around Lent, but so many places offer their sandwich year round and it is hard to not be tempted to go from time to time. A few of my favorite places to go now for fish sandwiches are the following-

Armand’s Bar & Lounge
4755 Liberty Avenue
Bloomfield, PA 15224
Phone- 412-681-3967
Sorry No Website
* I have been going to Armand’s since I was a kid, and the thing Armand’s has kept going is the amount of fish on one sandwich. For one sandwich that you order from Armands you can feed 2-3 people. For around $9 you get a sandwich for yourself and at least one other person. The only downside of Armand’s is that all sides are sold seperately.

Perrytowne Drafthouse
1002 Perry Hwy
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
Phone- 412-367-9610
Web- http://www.perrytownedrafthouse.com/
* This is another place that I have only found because of working in North Hills, and this is one of my favorites as well. I always start my meal off with a cup of the New England Clam Chowder, probably the best I have ever had. This almost reminds me of a seafood bisque most times because of the amount of clams inside and for how thick the chowder is. By far the most flavorful chowder I have ever had. Once you have the chowder you must then move to the Perrytowne’s Famous Fish Sandwich which is a beer-battered fish, and is one of the biggest fish sandwiches I know of that is served on a hoagie roll. Get this with a side of their homemade potato chips, and you have yourself a meal that won’t let you move for at least 48 hours.

Perrytowne Pour House on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

