Square Cafe – April 25, 2009

I know what everybody is going to be thinking when reading this post, "3 Regent Square reviews in the same month?" Yes! Regent Square has been trying for some time now to become the local spot, and they are really succeding in this mission. I don’t remember when the Square Cafe opened, but I do know that ever since then I have never seen the place empty when driving by. Since I started this blog, the Square Cafe has been high on the priority list. Let me just say that I think this place was very unique, but was kinda what I expected. The art on the wall, especially the picture that was behind my friend (which was very freaky to say the least), was able to be purchased and I am assuming it was a local artist or maybe even a person who worked there. During the nice weather, alot of tables are set up outdoors in front but the inside has a decent amount of seating along with a juice bar.

Food
Pumpkin Walnut Pancakes & Chicken Apple Sausage- I will say that the price ($8.50) seemed a little high, but the portion to me seemed to be worth it. I received 3 decent size pancakes that didn’t dissapoint on the flavor. Each bite had a walnut in it and all the flavors blended well together. One problem I had with the pancakes was that I could also get some flavors that I shouldn’t have been able to pick up on. How so? I think that whoever cooks in the back probably was doing alot of food back to back and wasn’t cleaning the cooking surface consistantly. I figured this was the problem because after getting over the initial taste most of the time the food really focused on the pumpkin flavor. The Chicken Apple Sausage was something I only bought because it sounded interesting, but for the price of $3.25 a piece I do not think I will ever get it again. The CAS was very tasty and I am not even sure if this is something that they purchase or is homemade,  but if you like sausage I would give it a try on your next visit.

Location
1137 South Braddock Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15218
Phone- 412-244-8002
Web- http://www.square-cafe.com/

Final Thought
Well my overall reaction was how pricey the place was, my meal I think for the size was alright for the price. My buddy Vic who got 2 pieces of french toast cut into 4 halves I don’t think was worth the $8 price tag. My apple juice, which if I wouldn’t have sipped at would’ve been gone in 2 or 3 gulps, was $2-$3 and was not free refills. The biggest problem I had was how expensive the chicken apple sausage was, I just couldn’t get over that no matter how good it was. This cafe to me isn’t your everday meal stop, especially in this economy, but is ok for a treat every now and then. The Square Cafe only serves breakfast and lunch, and I would like to stop back soon to give lunch a try as the plates I saw coming from the kitchen did look pretty nice. If you are interested in going to the Square Cafe, I recommend going to their website which I listed above and checking out the menu because it is a unique breakfast place and different from any I have been to before.

Until Next Time…

Square Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

