The Dor-Stop Restaurant – May 16, 2009

Last week I posted a list of all the places that the Food Networks "Diners, Drive-ins, & Dives" has been to in Pittsburgh. This past weekend I visited my 4th spot on that list, The Dor-Stop Restaurant in Dormont. When watching this episode I knew I had to go after the unique "hot cakes" that they made, the ones that stood out the most in the episode were the oatmeal and the pumpkin hot cakes. They do not serve pancakes, they serve hot cakes which are a heavier version of a pancake. One thing I have to mention is how easy the Dor-Stop is to find, I took my GPS since I do not usually travel out to Dormont, but if in Pittsburgh go through the Liberty Tunnels and follow that straight for 3-4 miles and make a right onto Potomac Ave and you will see the Dor-Stop about a block away on your right.

Food
Lori’s Stuffed Raspberry French Toast- This was a very sweet breakfast item. The items that make up this dish are a little sketchy to me because it has been so long since I have seen this episode, and it does not say what makes the dish on the menu. Take 2 normal pieces of texas toast, normal french toast style with an outside layer of cereal (I believe its cap’n crunch, but could be wrong). The portion that makes this "stuffed" is almost like a cream cheese/raspberry filling which is what makes the dish more sweet. Top it all with a little raspberry drizzle and you have one tasty dish. I ordered this item because of how good it looked on TV, I was not disappointed but I think next time I will skip the french toast and go with the breakfast jumbot.

Oatmeal Walnut Hotcakes- I really do not know what to say here except, DELICIOUS! In this order I got 3 MONSTER SIZED HOTCAKES, I thought just the size alone was worth the price (which I have to say all meals were priced fairly). The smell of the oatmeal when it hit the table just made my mouth water, I couldn’t even eat them right away I just wanted to keep the aroma around. Once I began eating, I think the best way to describe the dish as 3 big warm & soft oatmeal cookies. If you like oatmeal cookies, order these hotcakes. While I will want these every time I go back now, next time I must try the pumpkin hotcakes.

Final Thought
As I said earlier, such a quick and easy trip for me and that is key for a return. I am really looking forward to my next trip back to the Dor-Stop, and trying alot of the other tasty dishes they have on the menu. My next trip will most likely feature the breakfast jumbot and the pumpkin pancakes. If you have had either of these dishes let me know what you thought of them. Like alot of well known places, Dor-Stop isn’t a really big place. They do offer a little bit of outdoor seating, but the majority is inside or at the counter. I wouldn’t recommend going with a large family, because that would probably take alot of the seating, but a group of 4-6 would be fine. Below the location you will find 2 youtube videos, one is from the Food Network’s episode featuring the Dor-Stop and their Breakfast Jumbot and the other I found featuring some Pittsburgh girls (I’m guessing) and their trip to the Dor-Stop.

Location
1430 Potomac Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15216
Phone- 412-561-9320
Web- http://www.dor-stoprestaurant.com/

Food Network- Diners, Drive-ins, & Dives: Dor-Stop’s Breakfast Jumbot

Dor-Stop Restaurant Tour Pittsburgh w/ Del Greco Sisters

Dor-Stop on Urbanspoon

One comment

Leave a Reply

