Taj Mahal – July 11, 2009


Let me start off this review by apologizing for the lack of posts lately. It seems like the month of June went by way too fast and I didn’t get any trips in during that month. July is going just as quick and I am attempting to post 5 new reviews this month. I hope I reach my goal! So to start off this month I visited the Taj Mahal in North Hills this weekend and one thing I was impressed by at this restaurant was the menu size, it was massive! I have only had Indian food once before and do not think it best represented what the culture has to offer, so here is my second take on Indian food.

 
Food

Non-Vegetarian Mixed Platter (A keema samosa, chicken pakora, a fish pakora and a shami kebab) – The samosa was different, it was like a big bloated egg roll stuffed with ground meat and peas. I think the samosa could’ve been better if it would’ve came with a sauce, but nothing worthy of a meal by itself. I do not recall chicken on this dish, there was a piece that looked like buffalo chicken but turned out to be what I am guessing was the fish pakora. The fish wasn’t bad, but it definitely wasn’t what I was expecting when I bit into it. The shami kebab which is a spiced beef and can resemble American sausage a little bit had a good typical flavor. I have had this before and it basically was what I was expecting. There was also shrimp on the plate that seemed to be cooked in spices as well and was very plump and tender. If I can find the shrimp alone on the menu I would be interested in getting that in the future.

 

Tandoori Chicken (Chicken marinated in yogurt and mild spices then cooked in a clay oven – A Specialty of the Punjab region of India) – I ordered this dish because it was recommended on another website to try. As the description states above, this is to be a specialty. Basically the dish is half of a chicken and looked to be rubbed with spices, but the description claims it is marinated. The chicken was well cooked and tasted great, but I couldn’t really detect any spices except for a sporadic burst. The chicken was good, but I do not think I would ever get this dish again because to me it didn’t seem to be any different than a roasted chicken. The one thing my buddy JJ liked about the dish was that it came out sizzling on a skillet. That really didn’t do anything for me, I prefer taste over presentation, but if you like presentation this dish might do something for you.

 

Chicken Tikka Masala (Chunks of Chicken breast roasted in a clay oven and then cooked in a light creamy tomato sauce) – I only tried a sample of this, but was impressed with the flavors. Basically the description above explains the dish pretty well, but I paired this with rice and mushroom kulcha (naan bread stuffed with mushroom) and the whole dish really worked well together. The next time I will more than likely get this meal and hopefully elaborate more on it.

 

Final Thought

Well my second attempt at Indian cuisine was better than the first, but I still didn’t think it was anything spectacular. I am still going to continue the search until I find that great Indian dish! If you have had Indian food before please let me know of some places to try out. I think I would recommend the Taj Mahal, for a try. One thing I had that I am not sure if I recommend yet is the Mango Iced Tea, it was kind different to say the least. It was like a creamy iced tea. Thinking back on it now, the creamy portion of the drink could’ve been a mango nectar. It wasn’t bad, just….different.  My buddy JJ wants to take me to an Ethiopian restaurant so that should be interesting…

 

Location

7795 Mcknight Rd
Pittsburgh, PA 15237-3519
Phone-
412-364-1760

Web- http://www.tajmahalinc.com/

Taj Mahal on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

