Yo Rita – July 31, 2009

This was BAD! The entire overall experience at Yo Rita was just bad…from the drinks to the food to the waitress…just bad. Yo Rita, which I am not sure how long they have been in the South Side, is a small location with a bar inside. Friday night when I arrived there was probably only 3 other tables and a few people sitting at the bar, not very busy. Our waitress had no personality which was a big problem for a place we have never been to before. We tried to get information from her on the meals and she really didn’t have much to say except for a word or two here and there. You get complimentary chips with 2 types of salsa at the table, and my opinion the salsa wasn’t bad but the chips were stale. I ate them because I was hungry. The salsa’s given were a fresh style and a hot, both had flavor and was a nice start. I then ordered a drink that was recommended to me, the cafe con tequila. This is where it started to go bad. The "cafe con tequila" features espresso beans, blanco tequila, and sugar (as the menu states it to be) for $5. When it arrived on the table I couldn’t believe it, the drink was no larger than a shot of espresso. I was expecting a normal sized drink here, and it really didn’t taste like much except for the espresso. The waitress who knew at this point we had never been here before should’ve explained the drink when I ordered it.

Food
Peach Chipotle Soup- The guy who sat us at our table really sold us on this because of his description that it is a layered soup, you get the sweetness of the peach then get a kick. Well when our waitress then came by and we ordered the soup, it also came with either shrimp or tofu, I went with the shrimp. When the soup came out it was a cold soup, another thing that should’ve been explained. It really did have a lot of flavor to it and like the guy said it had layers to it. First sip you got a sweet taste and then it kicked you in the throat a bit, not harsh, just letting you know it was there. It was not a soup that could be finished though, after a while my buddy JJ described it best as a syrup. I think if it would’ve been heated, I will now call it a sauce, would go great as something to top one of the dishes with. It was tasty, but not the appropriate way to serve the "soup".

Next we ordered our "tacos". The main theme of Yo Rita is upscale tacos. I didn’t know what to expect, and that is the purpose of trying new places. If you look at Yo Rita’s menu each "taco" is priced from $3 – $7, this is PER TACO! Nothing comes with the taco except the taco and whatever they put on it.

Chorizo Taco- Topped with Manchego, Sweet Peppers, Pickeled Red Onion, & Aji Amarillo. The chorizo on this taco is what saved the entire evening. This was what you expect from chorizo, the spice to it was pretty awesome. Everything else on the taco didn’t really do anything for it, but the chorizo by itself was worth the trip.

Duck Taco- Topped with Sweet Potato, Jalapeno, Fig Chutney, Scallion, Cilantro. This is what the menu says, I don’t think all of that was on my taco. The duck wasn’t all that great, I have had duck and enjoy it from time to time. I do not recommend Yo Rita’s duck. The Fig Chutney almost had a citrus taste to it and think they tried to make a duck a l’Orange style taco. Failed.

Softshell Blue Crab Taco- Toped with Old Bay Aioli, Iceberg, Pico de Gallo, Habenero. I do not think habenero was on this taco either. The softshell blue crab was very good, but as a taco once again it failed. I think if this was a regular restaurant, they could’ve put everything on a pretzel roll or some type of good sandwich bread and this would be an awesome sandwich, but it doens’t do anything as a taco.

Final Thought
I will never be back.

Location
1120 E Carson St
Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1158
Phone- 412-904-3557
Website- www.yoritasouthside.com

Yo Rita on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

