Skillets Grille & Cafe – August 22, 2009

This is the first of seven blogs from my trip to Hilton Head Island this past week, and what will be my end of summer blog. I am going to split these up 4 today and 3 tomorrow. You might be asking yourself why am I posting places outside of Pittsburgh on a Pittsburgh Food Blog? Well I have to tell you that Hilton Head has a lot of Pittsburgh roots, one restaurant that I am going to write about is even Pittsburgh themed. While another place was owned by a couple who’s family is from Pittsburgh and they have a Terrible Towel hanging up. This blog in the end is a food blog, and I want to let you know of all the great places I go no matter in Pittsburgh or anywhere in the world. In these blogs I am not going to give my normal "final thought" because I can tell you now that I didn’t have a bad meal and recommend any of the places if you travel to Hilton Head Island or Savannah.

Food
Lobster Bisque- Anytime I hear or see Lobster or Seafood bisque on a menu I have to try it. I love Seafood Bisque in general and lobster bisque is never too far behind in the taste. Skillets has a great lobster bisque, which I expected since HHI is surrounded by the ocean. The bisque had just enough thickness and had a very smooth texture and taste. I could’ve used a little more lobster, but anytime I get a seafood bisque I am usually asking for more seafood in it.

Fish & Chips- As soon as I hit the island I had a craving for fish & chips, more so from a restaurant I visit in California but I’ll take what I can get. I walked in the door of Skillets and I noticed a kid eating fish & chips and decided right then and there that was going to be my lunch. The fish was perfectly cooked and golden and so were the chips. A side of coleslaw also came with the meal and it was good but I am not generally a coleslaw fan and think it is highly overrated.

Location
Skillets Café
1 N Forest Beach Dr.
J-1 Coligny Plaza
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina 29928
Phone- 843-785-3131
Web-
http://www.skilletscafe.com/

Skillets on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

