Fat Head’s – October 2, 2009

The first time I went to Fat Head’s was about a month or so before I started this site and while I don’t remember the exact burger I had (because they have so many), I knew I wanted to go back. So when my buddy Vic asked the other day if I wanted to go back I had to jump on the opportunity.

Food
Southside Slopes Headwich- The menu states that this "headwich" was voted the #5 best sandwich in the country by Maxim Magazine. I like the term "headwich" because the size of the food is pretty damn massive. The bun is very fresh, and I am guessing that they are made at fat heads or made special just for them. On the headwich you get kielbasa topped with fried pierogies, American cheese, grilled onions, and horsey sauce. It them comes with a side of homemade chips. The chips have a great crunch and taste to them, and if you have read any previous blogs you know I have to try any place that puts homemade chips on the menu. As for this headwich I don’t know if I would say its the #5 best in the country, I believe I have had some other great sandwiches, but it is a very creative & tasty sandwich. The kielbasa has a great smokey flavor to it and the pierogies are pretty perfect on top with the cheese and onions. I didn’t really care for the horsey sauce because it didn’t add anything to the sandwich. I like horsey sauce and it is a reason I picked this sandwich, but it didn’t pack any real flavor or heat, so it was a bit of a let down. I can only imagine what this headwich would be like replacing the kielbasa with a burger or a steak sandwich, knowing the size of this menu it might already be on there.

Chicken Parm Soup- This is something I got on my first trip and was so memorable I had to get it again. One soup I don’t like is french onion, but love the presentation of the melted cheese on top. Well that is the main presentation theme with the chicken parm soup as well and inside is just a flavor explosion! The base of the soup is tomato/marinara style with chunks of chicken throughout. If you want a hearty soup this is it. I wish fat heads was closer to my work because this could be an easy lunch every day.

Final Thought
Fat Head’s is a great place to go for lunch or dinner and with so many choices on their menu I’m sure you could do both meals everyday for a few months and not repeat a thing. Make sure you check out the menu on the site below. I have really only gone for lunch so I can’t recommend anything from the bar, but it looks like a lot of beer is on the menu so you could find a nice compatible beverage for your headwich.

Location
1805 E Carson St
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone- 412-431-7433
Web- http://www.fatheads.com/

Fat Head's Saloon on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

