Blue Dust – December 22, 2009

I have to start this blog by appologizing that its been 2 months since I have last made an entry. There is no excuse to why I haven’t gone out more and tried to update this site, but the goal of 2010 is to add a lot more to this blog and get things really going. I am very greatful to everyone who reads this blog and sends me feedback, but in 2010 I would like for more people to communicate on this site instead of just through emails and facebook messages. I want all the readers to be able to read what other people have to think about these places. Since I launched this site back in April of this year, my friends and I have enjoyed going to a bunch of new places and have found some places that we can’t believe we have lived without. This blog is about one of those places.

The Blue Dust is about as young as this site, and is in a spot that I wouldn’t expect a place like this to be at. If you are familiar with the Waterfront in Homestead, the Blue Dust is right outside of the Waterfront by the train tracks. My buddy Ed found this diamond in the rough, as he usually does with places that serve great beer, and yes JJ I will be discussing the beer selection in the blog! The beer selection reminded me a lot of D’s in Regent Square. There is around 20 some beers on tap along with a nice bottle selection in the cooler located in the restaurant. You are going to get some beers in bottles and on tap that the percentages are in double digits, I believe the Mad Elf I started with last night was around 9-10%, somebody correct me on this if I am wrong, but the owner was showing us some bottles that he has that could really knock you on your ass. Some unique liquors on hand are a raspberry rum, bacon burbon, horseradish vodka, mexican chile peppers & pineapple vodka and a chai vodka. My boy Ed got a Horseradish Vodka Bloody Mary, I have never had a bloody mary but I tried a taste and those flavors combined just hit you! Sundays are when Bloody Mary’s are on special, I can’t wait to go back on a Sunday and get a few other those. While the beer might bring you in, the food is what will make you stay (and is pretty much the point of this blog anyway).

Food
Smoked Brisket Sandwich- Smoked brisket with aged provolone, lettuce, tomato, onion. Choice of horseradish or barbeque sauce served with tortilla chips and salsa. I paired this sandwich up with a stout beer, the name of the beer was too long for me to remember, I just know that Shakespeare was in the name. Between the creaminess of the stout and the smokeyness of the brisket I was in heaven, at least that is the way I looked from what the owner said. I am a big fan of horseradish so that was my choice of sauce for this dish and I think it just helped make the sandwich have a unique flavor. I would like to try the bbq sauce next time. The brisket has such a great flavor to it, I don’t know if bacon is involved with the sandwich at all or if that is just what flavor the smoked brisket brings out but I would get light hints of bacon while eating, and that is never a bad thing! Jerry the owner of Blue Dust gave me a great quote and it rings true "once you have the brisket sandwich you will never want to eat a burger again!".

Final Thought
This is a must try place, I don’t think I can add anything more to this blog than what I have written already. I invite you all to go to the blue dust and try something on the menu other than the smoked brisket sandwich and let me know what you think of it, because I don’t think I will every stray away from the brisket! HAPPY HOLIDAYS EVERYONE!

Location
601 Amity Street
Homestead, PA 15120
Phone- 412-461-6220
Web-
http://www.bluedustpgh.com/index.html

Blue Dust on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

