The Red Ring – January 8, 2010

Happy New Year to all! I hope everyones holiday season was well, and most important is that you enjoyed some great food too. I know I did! My family had way too much food on the table this holiday season, especially Christmas Eve. We try to do the traditional 7 fishes, but sometimes go a little overboard with it and this year proved that. We had so much food we forgot to even put some of it out on the table. For the first time I tried to make a shrimp bisque, and while most of my family gave good reviews I wasn’t thrilled with it and will be trying a new recipe next time. I like a thick bisque and this was more of a soup texture, I got the recipe from Tyler Florence off of foodnetwork.com, but I don’t think I will go back to that recipe again. Moving onto the first review of 2010…

This past Friday I had a chance to go to The Red Ring Restaurant at Duquesne University, and I have to say how surprised I was at this place. The restauarant is located on Forbes in the new Power Center. The whole theme inside was a typical sports bar, but had an upscale touch as well. The dinning room and bar area were serparated by frosted glass with pictures of players and people of Duquesne, and was pretty cool. Even above one area of the restaurant is a big red oval ring light.

Food
Frank & Wally Sandwich- (Named after the famed establishment that once resided 100 yards from The Red Ring) Prime Rib of Beef with sauteed mushrooms, onions and peppers. Served open-faced on a toasted hoagie roll with au jus. (Knife & Fork Sandwich) I ordered with a side of homemade chips as well. If you like au jus sandwiches, this is a must try! My normal problem with au jus sandwiches are that the au jus can be lacking and they usually only give a small portion on the side. The Frank & Wally place the open faced sandwich in the middle of the plate and then the au jus is poured around the sandwich helping the au just drench the bread with plenty of au jus providing a nice presentation on the plate. The whole sandwich had so much flavor with the au jus along with the peppers and onions, as I write this I can still taste the flavors. The homemade chips were a nice touch on the side, and was an amazing helping of chips as well. I had enough for my meal and plenty for my family to try as well.

Final Thought
A few other items at the table were a Thai Chicken wrap, Ahi Tuna Salad, and a Cheesburger. Everything that was at the table was presented very well in modern dishes and every food item had an incredible presentation as well. I was very impressed with The Red Ring, and am looking forward to going back soon. Next time I would like to maybe tackle something on the specialty menu along with something from the bar.

Location
1015 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Phone- 412-396-3550
Web-
http://www.sites.duq.edu/power-center/red-ring.cfm
http://www.campusdish.com/en-US/CSMA/Duquesne/Locations/TheRedRingRestaurant.htm

Red Ring on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

