Pino’s – June 26, 2010

The reason for my trip to Pino’s was because my cousin came home after being away for a month doing Navy training and my family wanted to grab a quick bite. Pino’s is located in the Point Breeze area and even though I live very close to it I am not too familiar with the restaurants around the area except for a few that have been recommended to me. Pino’s was completely new for me and provided a very relaxed atmosphere inside. The entire restaurant is very small but offers a great selection of sidewalk seating as well. There is a small bar area inside and from what we were told it is generallty BYOB but they have aquired a liquor license and will be adding onto the bar in the future.

Food
Artichoke Fritters  & Vegetable Remoulade - this was our appetizer and if you have ever had fried cauliflower this dish reminded me a lot of that. Don’t get me wrong the artichoke and cauliflower are 2 completely different types of food and taste but the overall deep fried presentation was along the same lines. The vegetable remoulade had a great flavor that didn’t take away from the artichoke and just enhanced it.

Seafood FraDiavolo w/ Casereccia Pasta-
  Jumbo Shrimp & Diver Scallops, Mussels & Calamari, Hot Banana Peppers, Garlic, Fresh Tomatoes & Marinara – I love seafood, I guess that is the italian in me and when mixed with pasta it really can be a meal. This dish was large and was probably too generous of a seafood portion. For me it was too overkill with seafood, one thing I wonder about the dish after having it is if any fish stock was used in creating it because every bite had seafood flavor to it, and in the end that is all I could really taste. There were times that I was eating calamari and didn’t know it because of how well it blended into the pasta. The best part of this whole meal was the scallops, I do not think I have ever had scallops so perfectly cooked!

A few of my family members ordered different flatbread pizza and really enjoyed them, I think next time that might be what I go with. My meal didn’t leave me dissatisfied with Pino’s, it however didn’t leave me satisfied either. I would really like to go back and try again and see what Pino’s really does best. One thing I do know is that next time I will be bringing a bottle of wine!

Location
6738 Reynolds Street (Point Breeze Business District)
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Phone- 412-361-1336
Web- http://www.chefpino.com/

Pino's Contemporary Italian Restaurant & Wine Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

