Double Wide Grill – July 20, 2010

I’ve seen the Double Wide Grill in the South Side many times as I pass by, but never really had the chance to stop in and I also never really heard from too many who have eaten there. Yesterday my cousin Bobby, Vic and myself wanted to try something new and landed on Double Wide Grill. Before I went I checked out the website to see the menu, and trust me when I tell you that you have to watch the FYI video they have on their main page before you visit because it will get you ready to go! CLASSIC!

Food
Southwest Chicken Egg Rolls- filled with wood grilled chicken, red peppers, jalapenos, corn, onion, spinach and cheddar-jack cheese. The best thing about these were that usually when I get an egg roll outside of a chinese restaurant they usually use flakey wraps that are crisp but not a traditional egg roll. Double Wide uses the real egg roll and you can tell its the real deal cause the grease soaks up in all those nooks and crannies! On the side is a chipotle ranch for dipping and it didn’t really enhance the southwest flavor, but it provided a nice balance.

Bessy’s Best Bar-B-Q Brisket Sandwich- Double Wide Grill says it’s dry rubbed, slow roasted, melt in your mouth beef brisket. YES IT IS! You could tell just by one bite that the brisket was slow roasted because you got so many different layers of flavor from it. Instantly I was hit (not overpowered) by the smokeyness of the slow roasting, then the spice of the dry rub, and then if you choose to use it on the side you get a thing of bbq sauce and man that gives you a nice kick to your throat! And just to reiterate, when I say it hits or kicks you, these aren’t bad things! I also had a side of fries and cornbread, the fries were typical fresh cut potato fries but the cornbread was very good. I like when cornbread actually has kernals of corn in it and that was what I got in double wides, however the price for 1 piece was about $2 and the size was not worthy of $2.

Final Thoughts
I was really surprised how much of a BBQ menu Double Wide Grill offers, I just really didn’t expect it but I guess some of the best things in life are unexpected. You gotta try Double Wide Grill, but you gotta watch the FYI video on their website first!

Location
2339 East Carson Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2109
Phone- 412-390-1111 
Web-
http://www.doublewidegrill.com/

Double Wide Grill on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

