Hot Metal Diner – July 24, 2010

I know I teased this blog a few weeks back, I’m sorry I’ve been slacking but I just woke up from the nap I needed after eating at the Hot Metal Diner! The food was ridonculous! We are going to start a new portion here on the site called "Breakfast with Vic", my buddy Vic loves breakfast food and I know I can’t do a breakfast blog justice like he could. So I am going to give you my version and later on I will post Vic’s corner…

Food
The Breakfast Burrito & Pancakes- Ever since I started this blog, I go to a new place and want to try so many different things on the menu because I want to give a variety of thoughts and suggestions for when you go. Sometimes that plan backfires! I started this meal with a "DHT" Hot Metal Designer Iced Tea, which was delicious! I like Iced Tea, its a serious weakness of mine…this was mixed with lemonade and started out everything right! I then moved onto the breakfast burrito… oh lord… here is what the hot metal diner website lists this as- "a tortilla shell stuffed to the max with eggs, cheese, potatoes, peppers and onions, smothered with melted cheddar cheese and salsa. add ham, hot or sweet sausage or bacon." I added bacon! And when they say stuffed to the max, they mean STUFFED TO THE MAX! I don’t think I’ve ever had so many eggs and I barely got halfway through it! The flavors just mixed together so well and in almost each bite you got a little bit of everything, when I cut into the burrito it was so magnificent to look at because of the way it was layered.

Then of course this is where I got gready, I ordered one pancake (or as one person put on our fb page "man"cakes) and I have never had a pancake that was seriously bigger than the plate! Check out the picture above.

But I’ll tell you what, that was by far one of the best pancakes I have ever had! The whole meal was just made so much better because the ladies that run the place had such a great attitude and really seem to enjoy what they do and have fun doing it! If any of the ladies are reading this, you told me and Vic that since we were the last one’s in the place we had to do the floors, after eating all that I probably should’ve cause it could’ve worked some of that meal off! It took me a long time to finally eat at the Hot Metal Diner and to write this blog, but it won’t take me nearly as long for my return trip!

Location
1025 Lebanon Road
West Mifflin, PA 15122
Phone- 412-462-4900
Web- http://www.hotmetaldiner.com/index.html

Hot Metal Diner on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

