Cuzamil Restaurante Mexicano

Cuzamil Restaurante Mexicano on Urbanspoon

I hope everyone had a great holiday weekend and enjoyed a lot of great food too! This month I checked out Cuzamil twice, once on Cinco de Mayo and also last week. On Cino de Mayo the place was PACKED! My friend and I were lucky when we got to Cuzamil because we didn’t have to wait for a table even though the restaurant was busy, but that soon changed for most people who came after us, as we were leaving the wait was an hour. I know I was impressed with the food at Cuzamil along with the margaritas. A few weeks back I noticed Cuzamil for the first time and knew I had to check them out ASAP, what better day to do that then on Cinco de Mayo?!

On both trips I ordered Taco Dinners, the first was the Al Pastor (Pineapple Pork) and the second time was Ground Beef. The Al Pastor taco’s were delicious! The taco comes with rice and beans, if you have ever been to a Mexican restaurant I believe the rice and beans are pretty universal and can’t really say too much about them. Getting back to the taco’s, the pork was perfect and every bite had a nice hint of pineapple. The ground beef taco’s were good too, I find it very hard to mess those up.

The first trip I ordered a Chile Relleno and never received it, the second trip I ordered it and had some confusion on what I actually got. According to their menu a Chile Relleno is a ground beef and cheese ball, with a piece of bell pepper, battered and deep fried. That is exactly what I have seen on TV shows and other restaurants and that is what I wanted. When I ordered it, the waitress asked if I wanted the Chile Relleno or Chile Pablano? I asked what the difference was, I was told the Pablano was either chicken or pork with cheese in a pepper and that the relleno was just the pepper and cheese cut up. I ordered the Pablano with chicken. It was good, but I really wanted what the description said and was let down by that.

My main issues with Cuzamil was the Chile Relleno and the staff telling me the dish was something and the menu was something different. Also on Cinco de Mayo the place was packed and I really don’t think the staff was prepared to handle such a crowd. That was the main reason a second trip was necessary to see what the place is like on a normal day. The food was great both trips, but what will really bring me back is the margaritas! The first trip we ordered a pitcher of Mango margaritas and WOW did the tequila hit quickly! That pitcher went down real smooth! On my second trip we tried kiwi margaritas first, they were alright, but not as good as the mango and I couldn’t taste the tequila as much in the kiwi. I have a feeling for how close Cuzamil is to my house I might have to go back after work one day when I need a good margarita to chase the worries away!

Not sure what I will order next time I go back, a few friends have ordered the Cuzamil Platter which has a mix of everything and is really meant for at least 2 people to share. I may not know what food I will get, but I know there will be a pitcher of margaritas to wash it down for sure!

Location
2109 Murray Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15217
Phone – 412-521-3250
Web – http://www.cuzamilpgh.com/

Cuzamil Restaurante Mexicano on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

