Pittsburgh Burger Co. – July 16, 2011

Pittsburgh Burger Co. on Urbanspoon

I finally made my way down to the Pittsburgh Burger Co this past weekend, and I have to say that I am really surprised at the negative feedback I am seeing on Urbanspoon. Pittsburgh Burger Co is located where Fuddruckers previously was in the Waterfront. Not much has changed inside if you have previously been in Fuddruckers, the biggest change I noticed was that now you are seated at a table and the food is brought to you instead of ordering as you went in and had to pick it up yourself, that is a nice change. My waitress was Robin who was one of the friendliest waitresses I think I have had in some time in Pittsburgh.

Onto the food, I ordered a Bison Burger with Cheddar Cheese and Bacon. All burgers come with lettuce, tomato, red onion and pickles. You can add garlic mayo, bbq sauce, hot sauce and honey mustard at no charge and ketchup and yellow mustard are already at the table. Also, all burgers are served with bottomless fries! These fries, these fries were T-A-S-T-Y TASTY! They had a great crisp bite and the extra selling point is that they are a bottomless portion, but I have to say I was pleased with the amount on the plate and didn’t need to reorder. The Bison Burger was tasty as well, it was juicy and had flavor to it. My only downside is that if you would’ve just put the bison burger in front of me without ordering it I couldn’t tell you the difference between Bison and regular burger. Pittsburgh Burger Co offers 6 other types of Wild Meats which I plan to try each and every one of them and I’m sure I will find something unique in there.

The thing what I like most about Pittsburgh Burger Co compared to Burgatory and (even though I haven’t been to them yet) BRGR and among other trendy burger joints is that Pittsburgh Burger Co keeps it simple. The place inside is nice, not overdone, they have a bar in the back and flat screens throughout. Its just enough. I keep getting the feeling that these new places are made to be unique and sacrifice on the food a little, if you don’t like the Pittsburgh Burger Co I think you are one of those people who are looking for a different food trend and atmosphere rather than the overall quality because based off of the food I had Pittsburgh Burger Co has great quality.

One comment

  1. Thanks! This is a very helpful review. I am a big fan of Burgatory, and I also like BRGR. I was hoping to give the Pgh Burger Co. a try, but I was a bit alarmed by the negative reviews on Urban Spoon myself. Thanks for offering a different viewpoint!

Leave a Reply

