Sharp Edge Beer Emporium – August 26, 2011

   Sharp Edge Beer Emporium on Urbanspoon

After the past couple of weeks I’ve been in a real need for a good beer, so my buddy Vic and I decided to grab a drink and some food this past Friday night. We originally wanted to go to some place closer to us but after a quick try we realized the place we wanted to go wasn’t exactly what were looking for. So after some deliberation we chose to go to the Sharp Edge, neither of us had been yet and it was the perfect opportunity. I will say even before we go into this blog, I was highly impressed with Sharp Edge. The overall food quality along with the beer was exactly what I was looking for.

Of course when Vic and I go to eat we gotta try a few things lol, we started with the Belgian Style Pomme Frittes – A pile of crispy hand cut yukon gold frittes with a trio of homemade dipping sauces. The Pomme Frittes were very crispy french fries, and exactly what I am looking for in a fry. The dipping sauces along with it went over well. I was partial to the horseradish, they also offered ketchup, whole grain mustard, and the last sauce was something good but we had no real idea what was in it. Vic and I both settled that there was some peanut butter in it but could get too much. If anyone from the sharp edge is reading this, please let me know what was in there.

Next were the Buffalo Bleu Buffalo Bites, if you want a quick explanation they were like boneless wings but better! From the menu – A Sharp Edge Original! Tender bites of hand breaded all white meat
chicken fried golden brown, tossed in your choice of sauce with celery & bleu cheese or ranch. These were better than normal boneless wings because you could taste the quality, the breading wasn’t overdone and crunchy and the sauce complemented everything well. As we were leaving Sharp Edge we noticed they have 45 cent wing and buffalo bite nights and I wouldn’t mind going down for that one night in the future.

The main event of the evening was the Belgian Burger – A blend of fresh lamb & sirloin with minced shallot and crumbled bacon with whole grain mustard sauce & smoked gouda. OMG was this delicious. The burger had so much flavor to it, if you have read previous burger posts of mine you know I have said I can’t find different taste quality. The Belgian Burger had a unique flavor to it outside of any burger I have had in a long time. The smoked gouda was such a great compliment on top of everything else. The burger came with a side of fresh cut fries, but after having the Pomme Frittes earlier I was spoiled and didn’t eat too many of the fresh cut fries.

I chose to go with the “Over the Edge” belgian beer to compliment my dinner and if I remember correctly the beer had about 9.5% volume to it, the flavor was good, wasn’t anything too unique but the volume is what would make me want that again!

One comment

  1. I have to agree that the Belgian Burger is freaking phenomenal! I just googled “where can I buy ground lamb?” because I am hellbent on re-creating it when it’s time to fire up the grill in spring (a long way off for us Pittsburghers, I know).

Leave a Reply

