Nardi’s Fine Dining – December 10, 2011

Nardi’s Fine Dining on Urbanspoon

I hope everyone had a HAPPY HOLIDAY with lots and lots of delicious food! Earlier this month I got to go to Nardi’s with some friends for an early Christmas dinner and it was my first trip to Nardi’s. Nardi’s sits on top of the Jonet Building (10th Floor) in Monroeville, when the elevator opens up you see a small room with a bar and a fantastic view of 22. If Monroeville was more well lit I would think with that view it could compare to Vegas. The whole restaurant had a very classic look and feel to it, our party was a little large so they took us into another dinning room but we weren’t alone there were plenty of other tables with us.

I knew from looking at the menu ahead of time what I was going to order, filet mignon, but our waiter strongly recommended the Chicken Parmesan and I think the majority of our table ordered that. It looked delicious when it came out, and I will be ordering that on my next trip. Enough of what I didn’t order and onto what I actually ate. I started with a very fresh shrimp cocktail with 3 jumbo shrimp. Nothing out of the ordinary for a shrimp cocktail, it was just something I wanted. If you want to try something different, Nardi’s offers a Fried Shrimp Cocktail that actually has the cocktail sauce on shrimp before it is fried, something else to try on the next trip. Each meal comes with soup or salad and I ordered the Caesar Salad which was prepared in its classic form. A downside however is that the Caesar Salad was an up charge of an extra $7, so remember that if you plan on going. A couple of pre-meal items that seemed to go over well was the french onion soup and stuffed banana peppers, I tried a taste of the banana peppers and they were excellent with a nice amount of heat to them.

The main event for me was the 10 ounce Filet Minon and I believe every item on the menu is ala cart so I ordered a baked potato on the side (pictured above). The filet I ordered was medium and was perfectly cooked and came with mushrooms in a cabernet sauce. The potato was baked with sea salt and it gave it a nice flavor, and I usually don’t like sea salt.

I was ready for dessert and wanted cheesecake and unfortunately all they had for cheesecake that night was a pumpkin cheesecake, I ordered it but knew I wasn’t going to love it. The pumpkin flavor was strong and was just alright in my book. I knew I wouldn’t love it going in but went wahead anyway so thats my fault. Overall the service was very great but their downside was not explaining the desserts to the group, they only mentioned them when people asked what they had. I think most restaurant managers would want every wait staff to up sell, don’t pick and choose. I would give Nardi’s a 4 out of 5 rating and really looking forward to my return trip.

3 thoughts on “Nardi’s Fine Dining – December 10, 2011

  1. You have indeed wet my appetite and I am anxiously looking forward to trying this restaurant in the very near future. I do trust your judgement.

Leave a Reply

