The Cake and Cookie Spot – May 11, 2012

The Cake and Cookie Spot on Urbanspoon

I was in Squirrel Hill recently, well I am there everyday driving home, but this day I was stopping by to grab dinner and drinks for Happy Hour when my buddy and I noticed across the street a new place called The Cake and Cookie Spot. We went in before drinking and checked the place out. We noticed the selection of cake shots (I’ll get to those below) and cookies. We decided it would be best if we went to eat and drink first and then return to grab some items on the way home.

When we returned I had a hard time deciding what kinds of cookies I wanted. I am not much of a cake eater… lol, I’m going to get side tracked because ever time I think of “cake eater” I think of Jesse from The Mighty Ducks movies…

For those of you who know the movie or reference, you’re welcome. If you don’t know what I’m talking about? I feel bad for your childhood…Fine… moving on…

I prefer cookies over cake, so instead of torturing myself I asked for 2 of every cookie. I figured it was Mother’s Day Weekend it would give the family something to snack on. We began talking to the 2 ladies and found out the business is their’s and they are mother and daughter. I work with my family every day so I can respect families going into business with one another. They were both shocked when I asked for 2 of every cookie, but how can I know what I want for my return trip if I don’t know what I like?! I was also told I missed out on the oatmeal raisin cookies that day, so I will be returning soon since oatmeal cookies are my favorite. My favorite of the group was the rainbow/m&m style cookie (pictured in the middle above). It was crispy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside which is a perfect cookie in my book. The Ultimate Chocolate Chip cookie which is the drizzled chocolate cookie was excellent, I don’t like coconut at all but I really appreciated this cookie. I was also told that the chocolate on the bottom of the cookie is hand painted on! Seriously?! Huge selling point for that cookie because why would you not want to try something that has that much detail put into it? That’s how you know they care about their products when the details are a selling point!

I am also a big fan of anything red velvet (cupcakes, cookies, even regular cake) but I have never had a red velvet donut. The Cake and Cookie Spot had it and I had to have it too! OMG the flavor out of this hit every taste bud… as you see in the picture above that was the first thing I tried because I forgot to take a picture before I took a piece out of it lol. My least favorites were the lemon and lime cookies, which was sad because they peaked my interest the most when I ordered them. I was told they had a powerful flavor and I think it was just too overpowering for my taste.

Next I ordered a Peanut Butter Cup Cake Shot and an Oreo Cake Shot, I didn’t try the Oreo because I got it for my cousin who loves Oreo’s, he finished it in like a minute. The Cake Shots and Cake Push Up Pops at The Cake and Cookie Spot are the owner’s focus, this is what they want to be known for. I can tell you in my first bite of the cake shot I was taken back to high school. During high school bake sales a friend of mines mom would make these chocolate and peanut butter brownies, probably the best thing I have ever ate in my life! This Peanut Butter Cake Shot took me right back to that, I haven’t had anything that brought me back to that moment since high school and when food takes you to any place in your mind you know you have just ate something worth eating. The cake push up pops were seemed very similar to the cake shots but in a push up pop form (remember flinstone push up pops growing up? like that but with cake!).

One thing that I was a little saddened that I didn’t see at The Cake and Cookie Spot were cupcakes, especially since that is the real craze right now in dessert. However, with their focus on the cake shots and cake push up pops I think they will grow into their own market and craze. When I went the mother and daughter said they had only been open for about 2 weeks. I look forward to many return trips and wish them a long and successful business!

Leave a Reply

