Saga Hibachi Steakhouse & Sushi Bar (Monroeville Mall) – May 20, 2012

     Saga Hibachi Steakhous e & Sushi Bar (Monroeville Mall) on Urbanspoon

My mom has been wanting to go to Saga for a few months and we decided that for her birthday that the whole family should go. We started the night with some sushi. My sister recommended the “Millennium Roll” that has Spicy Lobster, Yellowtail, Jalapeno Topped with Fresh Scallop & Yum Tabiko. My Uncle also wanted an avocado roll and cucumber roll, which were average no real way you can screw those up. The Millennium Roll was good, a few family members thought it was spicy, but I didn’t really get any heat off of it.

The Main Event was the hibachi dinner. I ordered Chicken & Shrimp. I love hibachi shrimp, I don’t think it gets much better than that! All Saga hibachi dinners include shrimp appetizer, soup, salad, vegetables, rice and noodles. Until recently I never knew any places that served noodles with hibachi and really like that addition! I loved the soup, it had a fried onion inside which gave it different flavor that most places don’t have. The ginger dressing on the salad was also good, it wasn’t as overpowering as most places. The main course itself. Shrimp as expected were phenomenal! The noodles added an extra touch to the meal. The rice was good, normally I have always had vegetable fried rice, but this rice was fried but with no veggies mixed in. So I made do and mixed the hibachi veggies in with it. The chicken was ok, the sauce used on it was different. My sister mentioned it was like a sesame sauce, which I wasn’t crazy about. If it would’ve been just a regular teriyaki I would’ve liked it more.

The fun thing of Saga is the show the chef puts on during the meal, a table across from us had a very outgoing chef who was loud and talked a lot. Our chef was a little more laid back, but was still very good at his job. During the meal when they add saki to the food the chef squirts saki into everyone’s mouth, to quote “more saki, more happy!”.

I think most hibachi places are very similar, but when you find a good one you know it. Saga I think goes into the category of average. Not bad, but nothing really special for me to want to go out of my way of going to again. If you are in Monroeville looking for hibachi, I would pick Shogun, they are by far my favorite and the standard I set all hibachi meals against.

2 comments

  1. Apparently you and I eat at all the same restaurants. I’ve been to Saga over in Robinson, and I agree that it’s about average. I like it better than Benihana because of the noodle-factor, but Ichiban (also in Robinson) is my favorite. They serve noodles too and I like their food the best.
    If you’re ever on the other side of Pittsburgh, check it out!

  2. lol, it’s rare I hear someone say we like the same foods so that’s good to hear! I have actually been to Ichiban in Waterworks, if it’s the same people then I really liked their food too! It’s been a while since I’ve been I might need to check them out again. If I do I might have to try the Robinson location for something different.

Leave a Reply

