Taza 21 – June 7, 2012

Taza 21 on Urbanspoon

If you would’ve asked me a month ago “what is shawarma and where can I find some?” I wouldn’t have had a clue. Luckily (like most people I’m noticing) after watching “The Avengers” and the mention of shawarma in the movie I became inquisitive. I did a few searches for shawarma and found Taza 21 not too far away. Earlier this week I had a checkup at my dentist and to my surprise Taza 21 was located right next door! So my cousin and I decided to give it a try.

Walking in there isn’t a lot of space in Taza 21 only about 5 tables and the kitchen area with a counter to separate them. Taza 21 is brightly decorated which makes the small spot look better. Walking in for the first time we noticed the menu on the left wall and began deciding what to order. I went with the lamb shawarma while my cousin went with the chicken shawarma rolled pizza. Taza 21 describes the lamb shawarma as: “Strips of marinated lamb, stacked and roasted on a rotating fire spit. Juicy strips are shaved and wrapped w/ parsley, onion, pickles, tomatoes, and tahini sauce… rolled to go, in a crispy, pressed wheat wrap.”. The lamb was excellent! I wasn’t sure if I should expect the meal to be like a gyro but it was different, unique and depending on your taste possibly better. The flavors of the lamb, parsley, onion, pickles, tomatoes and tahini sauce all worked together and I could taste each individual flavor while they worked together. I loved that the whole wrap was pressed together on I’m guessing a panini press because the little bit of crunch to the wrap was a great addition. A wish I would’ve learned about shawarma years ago because I feel like I’ve been missing out on something special. Now that I know about shawarma and it is so close to home I plan on frequenting Taza 21 more often!

Leave a Reply

