YinzBurgh BBQ – August 28, 2012

YinzBurgh BBQ on Urbanspoon

Last month I went on vacation to South Carolina, so a buddy of mines goal on vacation was to get some good BBQ. Since I came back I’ve been in the mood for good BBQ in Pittsburgh, well I don’t think I have to look any further… YinzBurgh BBQ gave me a great experience. A week before my trip my Uncle visited YinzBurgh BBQ and called me telling me how good it was and how we were going to go for lunch the next week. So we did.

Walking in even before ordering we were told in great detail how the food is prepared and then received a sampling of each type of BBQ sauce they have (Signature Red, Carolina Vinegar, Honey Gold, Hot Honey Gold, and Afterburn). It was difficult to choose they were all so good. My favorites were the Carolina Vinegar and Hot Honey Gold. I ordered the Combo #5 (anyone remember that internet video?! lol) which was Pulled Pork & Brisket (I love me some brisket!). It came with a side of coleslaw, but I don’t really like coleslaw so I substituted for mac and cheese instead. I tried the pulled pork and brisket by themselves, then with each sauce and then finally combined the two sauces together which was surprisingly very good! My Uncle loved the Pulled Pork sandwich the week before and I have to say the pulled pork was excellent. I think on my next trip I want to try the pulled pork with the afterburn sauce. The brisket was tender and juicy, the sauces only enhanced the brisket and didn’t overpower. The mac and cheese was very good too and would recommend that to everyone as a side. The only thing I didn’t have that day which I should have was the cornbread. Next trip I am definitely ordering some cornbread.

There isn’t a lot of room inside, 2 tables and then some standing room area, so I would definitely suggest ordering it to go if you have a large group. Eating in or taking it to go I recommend a trip to YinzBurgh BBQ ASAP!

One comment

Leave a Reply

