SMOKE barbeque taqueria

smokeSMOKE barbeque taqueria on Urbanspoon

I’ve heard about SMOKE for a while now, especially amazing things about the brisket taco, but never made the time to actually go. It’s a shame I haven’t gone before because SMOKE is less than 10 minutes from my house. A few weeks ago before going to a pirate game a buddy and I grabbed a drink at Bettis’ and started talking to a guy next to us and somehow food came up (as it usually does with me). He told us if we haven’t been we had to visit SMOKE.

So I finally made my way to SMOKE. I wasn’t sure what to expect going in. I didn’t know if this would be a sit down or mostly take out. Walking in, it is a very modern restaurant and is probably one of the nicer places in Homestead. It is rare that I look at a menu and can say I want to try almost everything.

I got an order of chips with Queso & Chorizo to start the table off. The chips are listed as “fresh fried” and they are pretty awesome, I would go back just for these. The queso was good but I expected a little more spice from it since I added the chorizo. It was still great and something I would recommend ordering.

I thought about ordering so much food, again so much on the menu sounded good to me! I decided to stick with just tacos for my main course:

BLTACO – bacon, lettuce, tomatoes & smoked pepper mayo
- I have to say this taco surprised me. I figured it would be basic BLT. The bacon was excellent, cubed and crispy. The heat to this taco was what really surprised me. I would order this over and over again.

RIBS – pickles, onions & porter barbeque sauce
- The ribs were very tender and paired really well with the barbeque sauce. All the tacos are served on a fresh soft shell tortilla and I think everything on this taco just paired well together.

WAGYUBRISKET Рsaut̩ed onions, hot peppers & mustard sauce
- This is what I came for! I love brisket! I don’t have a smoker at home but have been contemplating buying one just so I can smoke brisket. To me this didn’t disappoint! Just like the rib taco everything paired really well together.

Already I can’t wait until my next trip to SMOKE! I will probably go back next week for either Taco’s or maybe go on Thursday to try their wings. There are so many things on the menu I need to try I see a few trips back in my future.

One comment

Leave a Reply

