My Top 5 Favorite Places To Eat In Pittsburgh!

I know with a headline like that I have alot to live up to. This "Top 5 List" is made up of 5 places I have eaten at for many years, and tend to visit somewhat frequently. This list is also not in any particular order, each of these places has something different to offer and while some menu items may overlap they can not compare to any of the others. So here we go…

Woody’s Little Italy Restaurant
5300 Walnut Street
McKeesport, PA 15132
Phone- 412-751-3225
Web- http://www.woodyscatering.com/Restaurant.htm

My father grew up not far from Woody’s, so we usually try and go when we are over that way or even when we are just hungry for their food. Woody’s prides themself on their homemade gnocchi, raviloi, and manicotti. Some of my favorites at Woody’s are the fried zucchini (with the horseradish sauce), stuffed banana peppers, chicken diablo, lasagna, and their pizza’s are always a good choice. If you are in the mood for great italian food with a nice but relaxed atmosphere, Woody’s is the place for you. They also offer catering and the information is on the website above.

Wing, Suds, & Spuds
8806 University Blvd
Moon Township, PA 15108
Phone- 412-264-1866
Sorry No Website

Not long ago I posted a review of "Bubba’s Ugly" who was voted "Best Wings in Pittsburgh" a year or so ago. Well boys and girls, meet IMO "The Best Wings. Period.". I went to college at Robert Morris University which is just down the road from WSS and that is when I found out about WSS. The sad thing is that I was hyped for weeks and weeks about going and the day I went was a Friday…DURING LENT! So my first ever trip to WSS did not include any WINGS! That day I ordered a fish sandwich, while that was a great fish sandwich, it was the first and last time I got something other than wings during my visit. I personally like my wings fried hard, nothing soggy, and that is what WSS provides. You don’t get tiny wingdings like Quaker Steak here, full wing with plenty of great sauces to choose from. The majority of the sauces are wet, but they do offer a dry rub as well. My favorite is the Garlic Parmesean, mmmmmm, sorry to go all Homer Simpson for a second. They also have the typical buffallo, BBQ, Honey BBQ, and countless others. All can be ordered Mild, Medium or Hot depending on tollerance. For a side I usually add a basket of their fresh cut curly fries, I might have to quit typing in a minute cause I am getting really hungry. Then to complete the whole meal add an ice cold Yuengling and that is my idea of a last supper.
*Another great place for wings is the Starlite Lounge in Blawnox, a buddy of mine recently turned me onto them and they have also been featured on "Dinners, Drive-ins, & Dives" on the Food Network with Guy Fieri. You can check them out on the web at http://www.moondogs.us/StarliteHome.html

Rudy Martino’s Original House of Submarines (or just simply… Rudy’s)
1918 Monongahela Ave
Swissvale, PA 15218
Phone- 412-271-1233
Sorry No Website

I don’t know if I even need to write much in this section, JUST GO HERE! Rudy’s is about 2 blocks away from my house, for those of you who know me now understand why I am a big guy. I have lived off of their subs for YEARS! The fresh hoagie rolls from Mancini’s are a great addition to the main event put in them. One of my favorites and almost the normal is a Mushroom Cheese Steak and when I really wanna add something I add egg on top of that. From the steaks, to italians, to burgers, to whatever type of sub you like Rudy’s has it! The sides can range from fries, onion rings, fried mushrooms all the way to my favorite hot pepper cheese balls. Wash it all down with a nice Turner’s iced tea, and boom goes the dynamite.

Jim’s Drive In
2600 Skyline Dr
West Mifflin, PA 15122
Phone- 412-466-1644
Sorry No Website

So Jim’s is not a typical place to eat, normally you parked your car, ordered your food at the window, then either at in your car or got the food to go. Now for the nice weather, Jim’s has a few outdoor picnic tables. Jim’s is famous for their "Special Sauce", I don’t know whats in it but I am pretty sure drugs are a part of it. If you have been or do go, do not purchase the sauce in a bottle to go, I am pretty sure they leave something out. Jim’s grills burgers, dogs, chicken and more. My usual is the cheese dog in which the dog is grilled then topped with sauce and onion, the cheese slice is placed ontop of that and the whole thing is put in the grill oven to toast everything to perfection! Same goes with the cheeseburger and chicken sandwich. This is the way a cheeseburger and dog were meant to be eaten! This is another location that my dad has taken me and my sister to on numerous occasions and now that we are older we bring our friends to as well. Another side with this meal is usually a vanilla malt for myself. Jim’s has numerous combinations for shakes/malts, and always delicious.

Mineo’s Pizza
2128 Murray Ave
Squirrel Hill, PA 15217
Phone- 412-521-9864 / 412-521-2053 (yes they are that busy they need 2 lines)
Web- http://www.mineospizza.com/

I always visit the Squirrel Hill location, but Mineo’s does have another location in Mt. Lebanon. If you know Mineo’s you probably know that if you like their pie you probably won’t ever step through the doors of Aiello’s not to far away and vice-versa. The only pie I get at Mineo’s is the Sausage and Mushroom, its the best IMO. I love Mineo’s because of that pizza, and the cheese that goes onto it…oh lord. It is just a hefty/tasty pie and I don’t think it comes any better.
*Another great pizza place in Squirrel Hill is Napoli’s right up the road from Mineo’s. Napoli’s has a full menu of pizza, pasta dinners, hoagies, salads, etc. My dad and his friends visit Napoli’s for lunch at least once a week if not more. A great place for a quick slice and even a 6 pack. A favorite here for me is the chicken parm hoagie, to die for! http://www.napolipizzasqhill.com/

So there you have it, my top 5 with a few additions too. I hope this helps you out, and stay tuned this week for at least 3 more reviews and at least a couple recipes. If you have been to any of these places, please leave comments below and even what your top 5 places are!

Until Next Time…

Leave a Reply

