Strawberry Spring Salad

Spring is finally here, I can tell because my allergies are in overdrive right now. I was reading Chef Robert Irvine’s blog yesterday and he was talking about how when this time of the year comes our appetite changes a little bit and we begin to eat food that is more appropriate to the season. My Aunt Sandy last summer began making a salad at work that a friend of hers told her about, it was basically just spring salad mix, bleu cheese crumbles, strawberries, and topped with Brianna’s Blush Wine Vinaigrette dressing. Immediately after trying this salad for the first time I could think of a number of items that could help it become a great meal. One of the best things I like about salads are that you don’t need a recipe, its all up to you how much of everything that you want on a salad. So here are the items that I picked out for my strawberry spring salad:

 

Spring Salad Mix

Fresh Strawberries, slice them on top of the salad mix

Feta Cheese Crumbles

Chopped Walnuts

Chick Peas

Cubed Chicken Breast (When making this I usually purchase the already cut up chicken that can be found in the same section as the raw chicken, and it is already cooked so all you have to do is open the package and you have chicken for a great addition, if you want the chicken cold. If you really want to go the extra mile, and want the chicken warm, buy a couple of chicken breasts and grill them and cut the down to add more flavor to this salad).

Top salad with Blush Wine Vinaigrette, then grind black pepper over to taste

 

There you have it, a quick and easy meal that I think you will really enjoy. I plan on adding recipes following reviews starting in May, and I invite you to being posting recipes in the comments section as well. Thanks to all of you who have been reading, the first month of being live is done, and hopefully next month our new website will be up and running.

 

Until Next Time…

Leave a Reply

