Sieb’s Pub – January 27, 2010 (Man vs. Food Edition)

irish challenge

Welcome to a very special edition of YINZ HUNGRY, today I am going to talk about my battle against “The Irish Challenge” at Sieb’s Pub in the North Hills. Let me start by saying that I am nothing like Adam Richman (host of Man v. Food on the Travel Channel) and I DO NOT WANT TO BE! Since I found out about the Irish Challenge I have been toying with the idea but the other day I was not prepared my friends. I did not go into Sieb’s Pub thinking I was going to do the Irish Challenge, I went in planning on having a salad (yes I know, two completely opposite choices). The past few weeks my friends and I have started to compete in a “Biggest Loser” competition and I have been doing very well with my food choices and have changed the majority of my eating habits. My goal has been to get a good amount of blogs in this month and then probably only get a few in over the next few months until the competition is over. Well, what a way to go out.

THE IRISH CHALLENGE
You have to take down a burger that they call “2 pounds of hand-packed beef”, it is one giant sandwich with two burger patties on it and I am guessing each one weighs a pound. It is smothered with peppers, mushrooms and onions along with 3 types of cheese and to help you out you get lettuce and tomato with a pickle spear. Then you get a pound of fries and a scoop and a half of homemade coleslaw. You have to eat all of this along with a 16 oz beer or pop in 45 minutes or less. If you can conquer the beast, you get the meal for free. If you can’t then it is only $19.99, not too bad for what is basically 2 or more meals. The picture I have posted can’t do the food justice!

Like I said above, I did not plan on going against the Irish Challenge but I was talked into doing it by my friend Vic who did have a pregame plan of attacking the Irish Challenge. Looking back I regret doing it, the food was delicious don’t get me wrong, but it was not a healthy thing to do…I don’t know how Adam Richman does it so much. I do not like coleslaw at all, so the plan was to get that down first. If I attempt this again I will go for the coleslaw last because I think that was what slowed me down so quick. After the coleslaw I took the top half of the burger and halfway through this burger I could tell I wasn’t going to finish. The burger itself was delicious and was perfectly seasoned, but that was too much beef! The fries are pretty damn close to what I like too, they had a nice crisp bite to them. Even though I didn’t finish the Irish Challenge, a benefit was that I had meals for 2 days! That is a great thing during this economy!

Our waiter who timed us, told us a story of a guy who came in and finished the Irish Challenge and said he could do another one…SMH…

I don’t know if I will ever do another food competition for this blog, but if there is a place that you know of that has a food competition let me know because it doesn’t hurt to look!

Location
3382 Babcock Boulevard
Pittsburgh, PA 15237-2422
Phone- 412-364-8511
Web- http://siebspub.com/

Sieb's Pub on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

